Home Alone 2: Lost in New York

252996-home_alone_2

Home Alone 2: Lost in New York (Giant Bomb|Wikipedia) is a bad game. Released for various systems around the time of the movie, it is a classic example of a bad licensed game. You play as Kevin McAllister and the first level takes place in a New York City hotel. You have to immediately escape the concierge or it’s game over – of course the game doesn’t tell you this so my first playthrough ended with a “Game Over” screen about 10 seconds in. Not a good sign. After I got the hang of it, I discovered that everything in the hotel is out to get you – the workers at the news stand, the bellboys, the maids, hell even the vacuum cleaners and mops are dangerous. You do find some weapons, but these usually just stun enemies and don’t remove them. I guess the goal of the game is to reach the end of the level, but this is never explained and I never finished the first stage, so I can’t say for sure. According to Giant Bomb’s wiki there are 4 stages – to make it through all of them must require tons of patience and luck.

home_alone_2__lost_in_new_york

Controls are, well, not good. Hit detection is poor, and certain platforms (mainly the trash cans) require some precision to land on, of which there is none. When you do get hit, you have some brief invulnerability and you flash – but it only lasts a few seconds which in my experience is not enough time to get out of the way of whatever hit you in the first place. Graphics are pretty bad for a SNES game – the first home alone isn’t much better but it had the excuse of coming out near the system’s launch. Music and sound are also pretty poor – I would believe it if someone told me this was a NES game (there was a NES port of the game, I haven’t played it).

Verdict: Back on the shelf. This is pretty terrible and I can’t see going back. I paid less than $2 for my copy – I’m thankful for that.

Images courtesy of Giant Bomb

Leave a Reply

