Final Fantasy Tactics Advance

1814647-box_ffta

I have a confession to make: I’ve never played a Final Fantasy game. When I was younger, I didn’t care for turn based battle systems, and when I was older and in college, the anime styling was just not appealing. I’ve come around on both accounts, and was able to dig in a bit on Final Fantasy Tactics Advance (Giant Bomb|Wikipedia).

For those who don’t know, FFTA is a strategy RPG – you command a group of characters in turn based battles who then gain experience points and levels. I didn’t get far enough to see exactly, but it seems that there is also an element of loot with different equipment available to the various characters. This is a full on RPG no doubt, but with a more strategic combat phase. It’s a nice mix, but I will say that the various mechanics are a bit overwhelming to a newcomer like me – job and law systems, the different character classes and their attacks and roles in combat, and a map that allows you to place points of interest. Incredibly deep and complex. I could see spending the first dozen or so hours with this game to just learn and get a feel for it, then start over.

459628-gfs_44908_2_13

The game is played from an overhead isometric perspective and the visuals are top notch. Sprite work is detailed and beautiful and the battlefield is readable at a glance – no small feat on the small screen and limited resolution of the GBA. I am still in love with the look of this game, it may be the best looking GBA title in my collection.

Music is overall great – but I can see it getting a bit stale after dozens of hours… not a fault of the game, but a limitation of cartridge sizes at the time. Sound effects crisp, clear, and perfect in every instance I saw. Overall, this is a great sounding game and it compliments the visuals quite nicely.

Overall I enjoyed my time with FFTA, but I think I need to read a beginners guide before I get too much further. The amount of time I dedicate to each title for this site is usually sufficient to judge – but in this case it wasn’t even close. I played close to double what I normally do and I was still a bit lost when it came to some of the mechanics. Thankfully, FFTA is compelling enough for me to keep up interest and follow through – I’m looking forward to playing all the way through in the future.

Verdict: Play again! This is fun and really deep – I can see sinking a ton of hours into it over lunch breaks.

Images courtesy of Giant Bomb

Leave a Reply

