Hiatus over – here’s what’s changing

Hey everyone, it’s been a while (7 months actually). I haven’t abandoned the blog, even though it may look like it. I’ve taken some time to think about what I want to do with it now that the initial goal has been met – 52 weeks of random games from my shelves was an interesting experiment for me. Here are the changes I’m doing or at least considering:

 

  1. Rename the blog – this should be pretty obvious, but “52 Week Backlog Challenge” was a hasty name I put in to get me rolling, and I never changed it. I’m still not certain what the new name will be (I’ve got some ideas), but I will be renaming it sometime soon.
  2. Label content better – I’ve been using tags, but really I should be noting the type of content in the title as well. Here are the preliminary types:
    1. Review – self explanatory, game or hardware reviews. I don’t feel that I need to finish a game to review it, but at this time I don’t see me reviewing something that isn’t done yet. I only did one review last year and it took me a while to write it, so don’t expect a ton of these.
    2. Quick Play – this was the bread and butter of the blog last year – a few hours of something and some first impressions. I’ll still be doing these from time to time but they are no longer the focus of the blog.
    3. Long Play – a new feature which I will go into below.
  3. Long Plays – I’ve had this idea kicking around for some time. Inspired by the ‘Together Retro’ feature on Racket Boy I will select a game randomly from a list and play it for a month or two. Because of my real life responsibilities I will probably only be able to play a few hours a week, but most of the games I’ve selected should be able to be finished in that time. I’m setting up just a few rules for myself… if I’m hating the game I can stop, if I’m loving it and I’m out of time (2 months are up) I can keep going, anything from the PS2/GC/Xbox era and older is up for grabs, and I should do my level best to finish the game before time is up. If I finish a game early, I will immediately pick another to play. I’ve created a list mainly using items from last year’s backlog challenge so I know before hand that I’ll like most of the games that can be selected. Before I start, I will write about my history with the game up to this point and my preconceived notions before I start. After I’m done, I’ll write about the game (not necessarily a review, but possible) and my experience with it – how does it hold up, was I right or wrong with my thoughts before hand, etc.

What all this means is that this blog will be updated less frequently, but with longer, meatier entries that are hopefully better composed than last year.

Thanks for reading the wall of text and hope to see you around!

Leave a Reply

