Long Play: GoldenEye 007

1849885-197462_42225_front

Where to begin? I guess 1998 or 1999 is the first time I played GoldenEye. I never personally owned an N64 when it was current (in fact, this was part of a gap where I didn’t have any current consoles – I went right from Genesis to PS2) as I was mostly playing on PC at the time. My friends however, all had N64s and every one of them had a copy of GoldenEye. At the time, it felt like a must own for the system – if you had an N64 you needed a copy of GoldenEye no if, ands, or buts. The main draw – for us at least – was the multiplayer mode. Get 4 friends together and you have hours of fun. The one thing that sticks out to me is that we were so into the built in cheats (paintball mode, DK mode, etc.) that we would make sure we had someone’s cartridge with a save that unlocked everything – in a strange way, the single player mode was important to us only in that it unlocked more options for multiplayer. I do remember at least one of my friends had every mission done in 00 Agent difficulty – something that was not achieved easily or without tons of level memorization and experimentation.
Some of my recollection of the game is that controls are a bit strange, as there is only 1 analog stick, and that the frame rate is awful on occasion. I also seem to recall people hating the difficulty in some later levels, but that may just be due to playing them in 00 Agent difficulty to unlock stuff for multiplayer. I do have a rumble pak, and since this is one of the few games in my collection that supports it, I’m excited to give it a workout.

I started playing on 7/19 and hope to be done in roughly a month – we’ll see!

P.S. No Oddjob allowed!

Image courtesy of Giant Bomb

Leave a Reply

